Nature Conservation Management For Long Valley

Project Objective:

It is an extension of “Sustainable Management Scheme in Long Valley”. The project is co-organized by The Conservancy Association (CA) and The Hong Kong Bird Watching Society (HKBWS). Local stakeholders, particularly landowners, farmers and villagers, are the major partners of this project. Conservation management is achieved by cooperating with stakeholders under management agreements. Learning from the pilot management agreement scheme, the current project further improves conservation management measures, strengthens relationship with cooperated stakeholders , conducts more in-depth ecological monitoring and improves public engagement in conservation works.

Project Period: 2005 to 2019

Funding party: Environment and Conservation Fund

Since the KCR Lok Ma Chau Spur Line issue, Long Valley has become a well-known bird-watching paradise. In November 2004, the Government announced “New Nature Conservation Policy” targeting at conserving ecologically sensitive sites on private land. 12 priority sites were selected. NGOs were encouraged to be engaged in management agreement pilot schemes in these priority sites and Long Valley was one of the choices. The project began in Long Valley from 2005. Through cooperation with local stakeholders and implementing different habitat management measures, the project aims at improving ecological value in Long Valley as well as attracting more wildlife to inhibit the area. It has come to the 10th year since the implementation of the management project, improvements in both habitat diversity and species diversity are encouraging. Particularly, the number of bird species has risen dramatically from 228 in 2005 to 299 in 2014.

In order to promote the importance of biodiversity, various education programmes are organized. For example, students and general public are guided for ecotours to observe wintering birds. Night Safari program is organized in summer to introduce the relationship between nocturnal organisms (amphibians) and eco- agriculture. Eco- and Heritage Tour leaded by local villagers is organized to promote heritage and wall village culture around Long Valley. Strawman Design Competition is held for Secondary school students. Furthermore, Harvest Festival is a highlight among our education programmes. Through participation in various harvesting workshops, we hope to reconnect people with soil and the natural environment.

 

Long Valley programmes:

Little Farmers

Long Valley Harvest Festival

Strawman Design Competition

Night Safari

Long Valley Eco- and Heritage Tour

 

Join us as Green Messengers to receive green news and updates!

塱原自然保育管理計劃

我們的工作 > 自然保育 > 保育塱原塱原自然保育管理計劃

計劃目標及特色 :

『塱原可持續生境管理計劃』的延續;長春社與香港觀鳥會擕手合作,與塱原地主、農友等繼續以管理合作協議形式,進行生境管理保育工作。根據第一個管理協議試驗計劃的經驗,是次計劃會進一步優化各保育管理措施的工作、加強與持份者的合作關係、進行更深入的濕地生態研究、及增加公眾直接參與保育工作的機會。
 
計劃時期 : 2005年– 2017年7月
資助機構 : 環境及自然保育基金
 
2000年的九廣鐵路落馬洲支線事件,令塱原這片原本寂寂無名的農地,變成人所共知的雀鳥天堂。2004年11月,政府公佈一套「新自然保育政策」,目的是保育私人土地上具重要生態價值的地點,並選定了12個優先保育地點,鼓勵非政府團體參與推行管理協議試驗計劃,塱原濕地就是其中一個優先保育地點。2005年底,在塱原展開一項保育計劃,透過與當地持份者合作,在農地進行不同的生境管理措施,改善並提高塱原的生態價值,吸引野生生物到來棲息覓食。管理計劃已經踏入第八年,無論是濕地生境多樣性和生物多樣性,均獲得很好的成果,特別是雀鳥方面,品種數目由2005年的228種遞升至2014年的299種。
 
另一方面,為推廣生物多樣性的重要,我們定期舉辦不同場類型的教育活動,例如塱原導賞團:帶領學生及公眾人士觀察過冬的候鳥;於夏天晚上則有夜探活動,向參加者介紹兩棲類及其他夜間生物與水田之間微妙的關係。此外,我們舉辦了生態古蹟導賞團,原居民導賞員帶領參加者認識塱原附近一帶的村落、祠堂廟宇及圍村文化,了解鄉郊今昔之變遷。另外也舉辦稻草人設計及製作比賽吸引學校參加,讓學生能了解種米的故事。塱原收成節亦是我們一年一度的盛事,讓公眾前來參與當中不同農務的活動,感受泥土。
 
 
塱原活動:
 
 
 
 
 
成為綠息份子,訂閱通訊